The Northern New England Philosophical Association

NNEPA Offical Site click here

The Northern New England Philosophical Association was founded in 1974 by a group of philosophers from several northern New England institutions of higher learning for the purpose of promoting the study of philosophy and the exchange of philosophical ideas. The organization meets once a year at the end of October (usually the last Friday and Saturday).  Institutions that have hosted the annual conference include:

  • Keene State College (1989)
  • UNH (1990 and 2000)
  • Colby College (1991)
  • Plymouth State College (1992 and 2002)
  • Dartmouth College (1993)
  • Rivier College (1994)
  • Dartmouth College (1995)
  • Norwich University (1996)
  • Bowdoin College (1997)
  • UVM (1998)
  • Saint Anselm College (1999)
  • Clark University (2001)
  • Keene State College(2003)
  • Dartmouth College (2004)

A highlight of each NNEPA conference is the Friday evening keynote address, and past conferences have featured a number of very distinguished keynote speakers.  Past keynoters include Martha Nussbaum, Noam Chomsky, W. V. O. Quine, Jonathan Bennett, Patricia Kitcher, Robert Audi, Robert Paul Wolf, Robert M. Adams, Ned Block, Joseph Margolis and Terence Irwin.

NNEPA Officers:

President: Peter Tumulty, of  St. Michael’s College , Colchester, Vermont

Executive Secretary: Ray Perkins, Plymouth State University, Plymouth, NH


NNEPA is putting together a history of the organization. If you have any info, old programs or some funny stories, please send to:

  • Ray Perkins
  • Philosophy Dept., Hyde Hall
    MSC #30
    Plymouth State University17 High St.
    Plymouth, NH 03264